Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Categories

EXE Disassemblers

I was hoping if someone out there could help me.
I'm kinda new to VB programming, but I do understand some of the essentials. My employer from work wants to upgrade the current program they are using for dispatching calls to cab drivers. The thing is, the program was built in 1993 and only runs in DOS, so my XP system can't run it.
What I am trying to do, is to look at the original source code of the current program to help me figure out how it communicates with the radio modem that our company uses to talk to the computers in the cars (ie. how data is transmitted and received). Then I will build upon that original code with new enhanced features available through Visual Basic.
I've been trying to find some programs or instructions on the internet as to how I can do this. The only thing that seems slightly promising, is a program called IDA Pro Freeware Version 4.3. I can open the DOS program in this one, and some text does appear on the screen, but it looks like machine code to me, it doesn't look like source code.
Does anyone know what to do after this point? How can I convert what I see into source code that is familiar and understandeable?
I would even be willing to allow someone to have the original DOS program, and if they could convert it into source code, that would be even better.
If anyone can help, that would be great...

Thankyou

Comments

• MT2002MT2002 Member Posts: 1,444
    : I was hoping if someone out there could help me.
    : I'm kinda new to VB programming, but I do understand some of the essentials. My employer from work wants to upgrade the current program they are using for dispatching calls to cab drivers. The thing is, the program was built in 1993 and only runs in DOS, so my XP system can't run it.