Custom table borders... *fairly* urgent - Programmers Heaven

Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Categories

Welcome to the new platform of Programmer's Heaven! We apologize for the inconvenience caused, if you visited us from a broken link of the previous version. The main reason to move to a new platform is to provide more effective and collaborative experience to you all. Please feel free to experience the new platform and use its exciting features. Contact us for any issue that you need to get clarified. We are more than happy to help you.

Custom table borders... *fairly* urgent

I am a web developer and my boss wants me to make table borders look like "torn paper" intead of the usual drab black lines. I was thinking I can have a picture of torn paper for each of the edges and somehow apply it to the table, but I am not sure how. Any help?

Oh and the tables of course have different sizes. ( They are normal html s)

Mike

Comments

• WeirdofreakWeirdofreak Posts: 439Member
    [b][red]This message was edited by Weirdofreak at 2005-1-11 10:30:45[/red][/b][hr]
    There's currently no easy way to do this. CSS3 will introduce the border-image property which should do the trick, but that's no good right now.

The easiest way would probably be to embed tables - have it three by three and give each of the outer ones a background-image and either width or height, or in the case of the corner ones, both. It doesn't make your code any nicer (which to a few people seems to be all that matters, oddly), but it's simple and it works.
    ^D
    $ shameless-plug
    http://line-ed.sourceforge.net

• mwronskimwronski Posts: 62Member