Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Categories

Welcome to the new platform of Programmer's Heaven! We apologize for the inconvenience caused, if you visited us from a broken link of the previous version. The main reason to move to a new platform is to provide more effective and collaborative experience to you all. Please feel free to experience the new platform and use its exciting features. Contact us for any issue that you need to get clarified. We are more than happy to help you.

Comparing value in textbox with a field in a database?

stokefanstokefan Posts: 60Member
Hi all,

I'm new to ASP.net forms authentication, so I'm making a simple login feature to my site, where the user enters their username, password and first name into my database. I can get this to insert correctly.

On the login screen though, when the user enters their username and password, how do I compare what they've submitted with what's stored in the database?

Many thanks,

stokefan

Comments

• iwilld0itiwilld0it Posts: 1,134Member
    Usually when creating a login, I build a sql query to lookup a user based on the username and password:

[code]
    Dim Sql As String = "SELECT UserID FROM LoginTable " & _
    "WHERE UserName = '" & txtUserName.Text & "' "
    "AND Password = '" & txtPassword.Text & "'"

Dim con As New SqlConnection(connectString)
    Dim cmd As New SqlCommand(Sql, con)
    Dim reader As New SqlDataReader

con.Open
    reader = cmd.ExecuteReader

If Not reader.Read Then
    ' Login was unsuccessful
    ' Show error message in a label
    lblMessage.Text = "Your username or password was incorrect!"
    End If
    reader.Close
    con.Close
    [/code]

: Hi all,
    :
    : I'm new to ASP.net forms authentication, so I'm making a simple login feature to my site, where the user enters their username, password and first name into my database. I can get this to insert correctly.
    :