Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Categories

Welcome to the new platform of Programmer's Heaven! We apologize for the inconvenience caused, if you visited us from a broken link of the previous version. The main reason to move to a new platform is to provide more effective and collaborative experience to you all. Please feel free to experience the new platform and use its exciting features. Contact us for any issue that you need to get clarified. We are more than happy to help you.

Small Program Help

exit12exit12 Posts: 3Member
Hi all
I'm new to Python and programmning so easy..

I'm struggling with a simple program I wrote to calculate perimeters of squares and rectangles. (yeah I know... but I'm just starting out with practising functions).
Once the user has entered an option and found out their perimeter, I can get the menu showing again, but when the select another option it just quits out of the program. My code is below. If someone could point me in the direction of allowing the user to be able to continue selecting options, right up until the actually press 3 to quit. I've been advised about using loop construct and I've looked on this but I'm still confused about to accomplish my task...anyone have some pointers?

Thank You.

#MENU
def main_menu():
print"Please choose an option below"
print"------------------------------"
print"1. Calculate perimeter of a Rectangle."
print"2. Calculate perimeter of a Square."
print"3. Quit."
print

def perrec(x,y):
return x+y+x+y

#Function 2 is the perimeter of square
def persquare(x):
return x*4

main_menu()
number = input("Please choose a number from menu: ")

if number==1:
x=input("Please enter width of Rectangle: ")
y=input("Please enter height of Rectangle: ")
print"Answer is ", perrec (x,y)
main_menu()

elif number==2:
x=input("Please enter width of Square: ")
print"Answer is ", persquare (x)
main_menu()

elif number!=3: