Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Categories

Welcome to the new platform of Programmer's Heaven! We apologize for the inconvenience caused, if you visited us from a broken link of the previous version. The main reason to move to a new platform is to provide more effective and collaborative experience to you all. Please feel free to experience the new platform and use its exciting features. Contact us for any issue that you need to get clarified. We are more than happy to help you.

Just a simple newbie question!

rudlophrudloph Posts: 1Member
Hello!

I am interested in writing a program that opens a textfile and fetches key values (coordinate numbers) from this textfile.

I then want to add simple predefined text & new coordinate values into this textfile, based upon the first key value.

Where should I start???, I am a total newbie!
I got the idea in my head clear, but getting it into the computer is not the same thing.

Recommend any programming language?

example of what i mean:

1.The txt file contains a coordinate in numbers but lets call this value "x".

2. I would like to use "x" as a reference point for inserting new values, lets say a value like that could be (+2.5, 3.2)

3. At the end "x" is replaced by the new value(x+2.5, 3.2)

It sounds simple to do manually and why need a program for it, but there is alot of values to be inserted, and different "x"s.

As I said Im totally green on this so any help at all, and I would be very thankful!

Comments

• ShadovvShadovv Posts: 31Member
    Try here:
    http://www.cplusplus.com/ref/cstring/strtok.html

Simpliest way I can think of doing this is to:
    - tokenize all different "x"s (assuming they are all different)
    - insert your string (eg. +2.5, 3.2) after the x.
    - write/append the output to a different file.
    - repeat until all x's are found and end of file is reach.

hope that helps.

: Hello!
    :