writing a procedure for dec to hex - Programmers Heaven

Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Categories

writing a procedure for dec to hex

DirtyKDirtyK Posts: 35Member
Yes I'm here again...

I need to write a procedure to input a decimal number via a suitable const parameter and output the hexadecimal equivalent to the console window...

Now, I can do the maths and figure I need to use a loop of some type, but can anyone help me on how i can store the numbers separately within the loop to put together at the end of the procedure...?
For example... you need to mod the number by 16 to get the remainder and then div by 16 and repeat with new num... how do you store the remainders and convert them into the hex equivalent without having lines and lines of code?

Any advice would be appreciated... As I've said before I am pretty new to this and really wanna learn the language...

Comments

• zibadianzibadian Posts: 6,349Member
    : Yes I'm here again...
    :
    : I need to write a procedure to input a decimal number via a suitable const parameter and output the hexadecimal equivalent to the console window...
    :
    : Now, I can do the maths and figure I need to use a loop of some type, but can anyone help me on how i can store the numbers separately within the loop to put together at the end of the procedure...?
    : For example... you need to mod the number by 16 to get the remainder and then div by 16 and repeat with new num... how do you store the remainders and convert them into the hex equivalent without having lines and lines of code?
    :
    : Any advice would be appreciated... As I've said before I am pretty new to this and really wanna learn the language...
    :

here is a sample code:
    [code]
    var
    i: integer;
    Number: integer;
    HexValue: string;
    begin
    HexStr := '';
    while Number > 0 do
    begin
    HexStr := HexValues[Number mod 16+1] + HexStr;