Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Categories

Help needed..!!

csecse Member Posts: 2
Hi all...
i'm new to computer graphics
i love graphics
but don't know how to start,
I know graphics in C/C++

but its capability is poor.
so I want to jump to directx or opengl
but don't know how to start where to start. can anybody help me about this. and online tutorials about DX or OGL.
thanks a million...

cse.

Comments

• CroWCroW Member Posts: 348
    : Hi all...
    : i'm new to computer graphics
    : i love graphics
    : but don't know how to start,
    : I know graphics in C/C++
    :
    : but its capability is poor.
    : so I want to jump to directx or opengl
    : but don't know how to start where to start. can anybody help me about this. and online tutorials about DX or OGL.
    : thanks a million...
    :
    : cse.
    :

directx is a package for developing programs with high-performance graphics(2D and 3D aswell),using sound( sourround),network and game-optimized input from keyboard,mouse,and gameports.

opengl is only capable of creating highperformance 3d (and 2d) graphics.its more easier to port to other platforms than directx-code since dx is M$-platforms only while opengl works on many different-platforms and will make it more easy to to change your code to linux,e.g.

c/c++ is a good choice for accessing both apis and its fast,too.all you need is a compiler which can link-in .lib files (all i know can do this) and create win32-applications.

i personaly prefer opengl,but when writing a game with lots of features like 5.1 sound you need some parts of the directx-package,too.so i suggest learning opengl for graphics,i think it will make starting easier than direct3d/directgraphics.when you understand opengl you its not that difficult to learn another 3d-api like d3d,many concepts are the same.