Differentiate between 2 laser beams - Programmers Heaven

Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Categories

Welcome to the new platform of Programmer's Heaven! We apologize for the inconvenience caused, if you visited us from a broken link of the previous version. The main reason to move to a new platform is to provide more effective and collaborative experience to you all. Please feel free to experience the new platform and use its exciting features. Contact us for any issue that you need to get clarified. We are more than happy to help you.

Differentiate between 2 laser beams

hi all,
I am a student studying a microcontroller (8051) course. We are going to desgin a project which is something like a mini shooting game. we use LDR(light dependent resistor) to detect laser beams ( the laser beams are from laser pointers ). When LDR detects the laser, its resistance decrease and voltage across the resistor ,which is in series with the LDR, will increase, so the 8051 can detect the gun shoot from the laser gun.

However, we want to implement a 2-player environment. the LDR have to detect whether player 1 shoot it or player 2 do so. We can't figure out any method to differentiate the 2 laser beams.

My partners came up with an idea that the 2 laser beams from the laser pointers are of different brightness, but I think it doesn't work.
Also, we also thought of connecting a 8051 to the switch of laser pointers, and with a infra-red device which sends back the information to the 8051 (which detects gunshots from LDR) but by using this method, we still don't know which gun shoots the LDR when both guns are switch on together.

any idea to differentiate the 2 laser beams? Should we use other methods to replace laser, like infra-red? because there are several LDR to detect laser, infra -red seems not a good choice because it diffracts too much.

sorry for my poor English!
Thanks everyone!
Samuel

Comments