Avoiding accidental program exit - Programmers Heaven

Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Categories

Avoiding accidental program exit

yankorezzayankorezza Posts: 5Member
[b][red]This message was edited by yankorezza at 2004-9-30 6:47:43[/red][/b][hr]
I have a line in one of my programs that asks the user for a particular set of integars in order to create a desired range.
The line is simply this:-

num = input("Enter numbers for range (eg. 0,10): ")

To avoid more or less than 2 numbers being entered I have added the following code:-

j = 1
while j == 1:
num = input("Enter numbers for range (eg. 0,10): ")
numl = [num[0],num[1]]
if len(numl) < 2: j = 1
elif len(numl) > 2: j = 1
else: j = 0

The problem is that I want to guard against the program closing itself if a string is accidentally typed by the user at this point. Please bear with me as I am new to programming, but i have tried things like

elif num == str(); elif num != int(); elif str() in numl; etc.
Please can someone help me out on this because I can't figure it out?

Comments

• infidelinfidel Posts: 2,900Member
    : [b][red]This message was edited by yankorezza at 2004-9-30 6:47:43[/red][/b][hr]
    : I have a line in one of my programs that asks the user for a particular set of integars in order to create a desired range.
    : The line is simply this:-
    :
    : num = input("Enter numbers for range (eg. 0,10): ")
    :
    : To avoid more or less than 2 numbers being entered I have added the following code:-
    :
    : j = 1
    : while j == 1:
    : num = input("Enter numbers for range (eg. 0,10): ")
    : numl = [num[0],num[1]]
    : if len(numl) < 2: j = 1
    : elif len(numl) > 2: j = 1
    : else: j = 0
    :
    : The problem is that I want to guard against the program closing itself if a string is accidentally typed by the user at this point. Please bear with me as I am new to programming, but i have tried things like