Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Categories

Welcome to the new platform of Programmer's Heaven! We apologize for the inconvenience caused, if you visited us from a broken link of the previous version. The main reason to move to a new platform is to provide more effective and collaborative experience to you all. Please feel free to experience the new platform and use its exciting features. Contact us for any issue that you need to get clarified. We are more than happy to help you.

Is it Possible?

Hello, I am fairly new to programming but I was wondering how difficult it would be to do this in Delphi:

:call a command prompt
:input a string that executes a CLI (command line interface) EXE
:allows user to input parameters based on what the EXE allows with drop downs and Windows file structure searches
:does the processing in the background with maybe a progress bar
:create a log file with changes made (original vs. changed)
:if EXE creates a backup file (it does), move those files to some other location, and log it, and allow me to view the log file from the application
:and finally, call another EXE from the application to view the changed file for quick verification

I'm fairly confident that calling the Command Prompt may NOT be needed, but this is what I do manually.

This seems complicated to me. But I am sure with enough practice and patience it can be done. I think what I have in mind will keep me motivated enough to follow through until it is finished, but I need some initial guidance to tell me if it's even do-able in Delphi.

Comments

• zibadianzibadian Posts: 6,349Member
    : Hello, I am fairly new to programming but I was wondering how difficult it would be to do this in Delphi:
    :
    : :call a command prompt
    : :input a string that executes a CLI (command line interface) EXE