Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Categories

How to measure code execution time?

fissyxfissyx Member Posts: 1
I have a pretty elementary question (I'm an intern - it happens!). My boss asked me to run a timer to measure how long it takes to execute some code on a Motorola 32-bit Microcontroller. I am using Metrowerks Codewarrior. Is there a built in tool in Codewarrior that can accomplish this? If there isn't, or you don't have experience using CodeWarrior, then is there a coding technique or tool that I must/can use? Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Fissyx

Comments

• johnsonmejohnsonme Member Posts: 57
    I don't know about code warrior. But no need of using its library.. Start a timer at the starting of a particular routine.. Stop it at the end of the routine and take the time.
  • johnsonmejohnsonme Member Posts: 57
    Take the system time at the begining of the function.
    Do a simple multiplication. Execute it for one lakh times (or larger depending upon your requirment) in a for loop. After executing the for loop, take system time again. find the difference. Divide it with one lakh. you will get the time taken for one multiplication.
  • sumitxshahsumitxshah Member Posts: 20
    : Take the system time at the begining of the function.
    : Do a simple multiplication. Execute it for one lakh times (or larger depending upon your requirment) in a for loop. After executing the for loop, take system time again. find the difference. Divide it with one lakh. you will get the time taken for one multiplication.
    :

If you are working in unix platform then there are functions " ctime(), gmtime() and localtime()", which will return you unsigned long decimal vvalue since Jan 1 1970. capture the starting and ending
    value and then subtract (closing time -opening time) this will give you the exact time in SECONDS, your program is executed.