Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Categories

Welcome to the new platform of Programmer's Heaven! We apologize for the inconvenience caused, if you visited us from a broken link of the previous version. The main reason to move to a new platform is to provide more effective and collaborative experience to you all. Please feel free to experience the new platform and use its exciting features. Contact us for any issue that you need to get clarified. We are more than happy to help you.

compatibility questions

VB NewbieVB Newbie Posts: 206Member
Hi,

As a newbie I have some basic questions.
1) Are php script and Javascript compatible with both IE and Netscape?
2) How to inform a user (with an allertbox) that he is NOT using IE and viewing the website may be a problem?
3) Any additional advise is welcome!

Thanks,

VB Newbie

Comments

• WeirdofreakWeirdofreak Posts: 439Member
    : 1) Are php script and Javascript compatible with both IE and Netscape?
    If by PHP script you mean PHP, then no. In fact, whatever you mean by PHP script, no, because Javascript differs radically. They both (as well as practically every other browser out there) support it, but when you start trying to do particularly complex stuff, you need to check which one the user's browser supports. They all do the basic stuff, including checking which method is supported, the same though, which is lucky.

PHP isn't technically supported by either. It's server-side, so the browsers don't see it. Of course, if they did have to interpret it themselves, there'd be massive incompatibility problems, so consider yourself lucky.

: 2) How to inform a user (with an allertbox) that he is NOT using IE and viewing the website may be a problem?
    If you have to do that, you need to re-write the code. There's very little that IE can do that the other browsers can't, except for spreading a virus. :-)