Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Categories

Begginers VB and MYSQL Connection

Hi,
I'm a beginner with VB6. I don't know very much, but have been attempting to build a program whereas on the completion of the loading of a certain web page within the browser embedded on the form, the program connects to a passworded MYSQL database which i have already created on my webhost server, and adds one credit to the value for the current user.

I have a problem, however, within the connection of VB to the MYSQL.

I havent got a clue how to do it, or even where to start. i've been onto the ODBC reference manual on mysql.com, but i need something in plain English, and something i can basically copy and paste into my code (i can take the time to study it later, but am on a tight schedule)

Any help, tutorials, diagrams, or copy and paste code i could use would be great.

The server is db1.valuehost.co.uk and the database is genesis3_tox1

so basically, if anyone could incorporate that (and point out where to put my user and pass because i'm not posting such info on a public board) into a copy/paste code, i would be eternally grateful.

Cheers

Whitey

Comments

• GideonOmegaGideonOmega Member Posts: 617
    : Hi,
    : I'm a beginner with VB6. I don't know very much, but have been attempting to build a program whereas on the completion of the loading of a certain web page within the browser embedded on the form, the program connects to a passworded MYSQL database which i have already created on my webhost server, and adds one credit to the value for the current user.
    :
    : I have a problem, however, within the connection of VB to the MYSQL.
    :