Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Sign In with Facebook Sign In with Google Sign In with OpenID

Categories

We have migrated to a new platform! Please note that you will need to reset your password to log in (your credentials are still in-tact though). Please contact lee@programmersheaven.com if you have questions.
Welcome to the new platform of Programmer's Heaven! We apologize for the inconvenience caused, if you visited us from a broken link of the previous version. The main reason to move to a new platform is to provide more effective and collaborative experience to you all. Please feel free to experience the new platform and use its exciting features. Contact us for any issue that you need to get clarified. We are more than happy to help you.

javascript loads specific page else ALERT

mgtsamgtsa Posts: 2Member
Hi!

Im REALLY new at Javascript - been browsing these forums and reading up like crazy for ony two weeks, to try and learn enough for a project i'm working on.

THE QUESTION IS:

I want the user to be able to type in a number (eg: abc_123) that will launch a popup containing the page (eg: abc_123.htm). I've managed to get this right by adapting a password script(where password= pagename.htm). That was quite easy.

BUT now i need to do this: IF they type in a filename that doesnt exist, it must either load a page saying "the number you have entered..." or cause an ALERT to popup. I've read that one can customise error pages and upload them to the server, but then that page would appear for ANY other error on the site too.

Is there a way to do this? I would guess I need to use an IF (else) statement. Is there any way javascript could check to see if the page exists (then load it), otherwise popup a custom page or ALERT