Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Categories

Window Creation Crash...

SephirothSephiroth Fayetteville, NC, USAMember Posts: 1,035
Alright, I've been creating windows for several years now, and using this same class in my past few apps, but with my new app, it crashes on the 'CreateWindow()' check. The class registers fine, so here's the problematic line.
[code]
#define WINDOW_TITLE "Diablo II Level Format Editor"
#define WINDOW_CLASS "Diablo_Class"
#define WINDOW_CALLBACK "MainCalls"

bool WINDOWDATA::CreateWin()
{
MessageBox(NULL, "Create", "Debug", MB_OK);
if((Handle = CreateWindow(WINDOW_CLASS, WINDOW_TITLE, WS_OVERLAPPED | WS_SYSMENU | WS_MINIMIZEBOX, 0, 0, 512, 384, NULL, NULL, Instance, NULL)) == NULL)
{
MessageBox(NULL, "Could not create the main window.", "Startup Error", MB_OK | MB_ICONSTOP);
return false;
}

return true;
}
[/code]
Instance is set to the 'HINSTANCE' the 'WinMain()' function passes, so it should be OK also. Thanks for the help!

-[italic][b][red]S[/red][purple]e[/purple][blue]p[/blue][green]h[/green][red]i[/red][purple]r[/purple][blue]o[/blue][green]t[/green][red]h[/red][/b][/italic]

Comments

• bikibiki Member Posts: 492
    [green]
    Its difficult to tell, there could be many reasons.
    There are many types of "crashes". What error message are you getting?

Also, just curious, why do you add a "" at the end of a string literal as you did in: 'MessageBox(NULL, "Create", "Debug", MB_OK);' ?
    [/green]
    : Alright, I've been creating windows for several years now, and using this same class in my past few apps, but with my new app, it crashes on the 'CreateWindow()' check. The class registers fine, so here's the problematic line.
    : [code]
    : #define WINDOW_TITLE "Diablo II Level Format Editor"
    : #define WINDOW_CLASS "Diablo_Class"
    : #define WINDOW_CALLBACK "MainCalls"
    :
    : bool WINDOWDATA::CreateWin()
    : {