Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Sign In with Facebook Sign In with Google Sign In with OpenID

Categories

We have migrated to a new platform! Please note that you will need to reset your password to log in (your credentials are still in-tact though). Please contact lee@programmersheaven.com if you have questions.
Welcome to the new platform of Programmer's Heaven! We apologize for the inconvenience caused, if you visited us from a broken link of the previous version. The main reason to move to a new platform is to provide more effective and collaborative experience to you all. Please feel free to experience the new platform and use its exciting features. Contact us for any issue that you need to get clarified. We are more than happy to help you.

Date last modified

I am very new to script programming, and I was wondering how I would go about having a pop-up window appear for a user if the page they are visiting has been modified since their last visit?

Here is the code that someone has recommend for me to use, but the prompt seems to appear everytime you access the page rather than only if the page was modified since their last visit. Is there something I should change?

Any help would be greatly appreciated

cegmar

(sorry about the length of my post)

<%
'The following script tells the browser not to cache the page and also that the page has expired. Everytime the browser visits this page he is forced to request a new version of the page from the server.
Response.Expires = 60
Response.Expiresabsolute = Now() - 1
Response.AddHeader "pragma","no-cache"
Response.AddHeader "cache-control","private"
Response.CacheControl = "no-cache"
%>

<%
'Check the cookie exists, LastVisit is the cookie name.
cookieFound = FALSE
IF Request.Cookies("LastVisit") <> "" THEN
'The cookie exists, read it, and convert it into a VBScript date format
newCookie = CDate(Request.Cookies("LastVisit"))