Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Sign In with Facebook Sign In with Google Sign In with OpenID

Categories

We have migrated to a new platform! Please note that you will need to reset your password to log in (your credentials are still in-tact though). Please contact lee@programmersheaven.com if you have questions.
Welcome to the new platform of Programmer's Heaven! We apologize for the inconvenience caused, if you visited us from a broken link of the previous version. The main reason to move to a new platform is to provide more effective and collaborative experience to you all. Please feel free to experience the new platform and use its exciting features. Contact us for any issue that you need to get clarified. We are more than happy to help you.

Is WinXPs JVM Bogus or just IE6?

GeoHoffmanGeoHoffman Posts: 176Member
Hi. I just started learning java about a month ago. I am having many problems getting things to work correctly and I think it has to do with my JVM or web browser. I am running windowsXP and IE6 and have the Java 2 (v1.4.2_03) virtual machine. I am mostly trying to program applets for my web site. Here is some code. I got this out of "Java 2 fifth edition" published by Osborne so it should be accurate:

//BEGIN CODE: (file is named test.java)////////////////////
import java.awt.*;
import java.applet.*;
import java.awt.event.*;

public class test extends Applet implements MouseListener, MouseMotionListener
{
String msg = "";
int mouseY = 0;
int mouseX = 0;

public void init()
{
addMouseListener(this);
addMouseMotionListener(this);
}
public void mouseClicked(MouseEvent me)
{
mouseX = 0;
mouseY = 10;
msg = "Mouse Clicked";
repaint();
}
public void mouseEntered(MouseEvent me)
{
mouseX = 0;
mouseY = 10;
msg = "Mouse Entered";
repaint();
}
public void mouseExited(MouseEvent me)
{
mouseX = 0;
mouseY = 10;
msg = "Mouse Exited";
repaint();
}
public void mousePressed(MouseEvent me)
{