Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Categories

Welcome to the new platform of Programmer's Heaven! We apologize for the inconvenience caused, if you visited us from a broken link of the previous version. The main reason to move to a new platform is to provide more effective and collaborative experience to you all. Please feel free to experience the new platform and use its exciting features. Contact us for any issue that you need to get clarified. We are more than happy to help you.

from python to perl

justin8justin8 Posts: 4Member
Hello,

For a couple of years I am a Python programmer now, but now I have to switch to Perl. Changing to a new programming language is always in the beginning difficult, and I wonder if anybody knows a good tutorial for learning Perl, specially for people coming from Python. Until know I only find the switch from Perl to Python.

Comments

• JonathanJonathan Posts: 2,914Member
    Hi,

: For a couple of years I am a Python programmer now, but now I have
    : to switch to Perl. Changing to a new programming language is always
    : in the beginning difficult, and I wonder if anybody knows a good
    : tutorial for learning Perl, specially for people coming from Python.
    : Until know I only find the switch from Perl to Python.
    Welcome to Perl, and I hope you'll like the language. Like Python, Perl is dynamically typed etc so they do have a few things in common that way.

As for tutorials, here's a place to start:-
    http://www.perldoc.com/perl5.8.0/pod/perlintro.html
    Which gives you a quick rundown of the language. If you're up for getting a book, then O'Reilly's Programming Perl is probably the best one out there, though it's aimed at people who have programmed before (so you should be fine having had a couple of years at it).

From what little I know of Python, the main things you'll find different are:-
    - Variables have sigils