Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Categories

Modem Does Not Detect

PandianASMPandianASM Member Posts: 26
hai
i, recentlly ,installed RetHat Linux. actually i am new to linux.
so far i worked with windows platform. In windows platform modem works well. but in LINUX modem could not detect. is there any manual or automaic detection process availale? please give me

Comments

• XfactorXfactor Member Posts: 343
    : hai
    : i, recentlly ,installed RetHat Linux. actually i am new to linux.
    : so far i worked with windows platform. In windows platform modem works well. but in LINUX modem could not detect. is there any manual or automaic detection process availale? please give me
    :
    Sounds like you have a winmodem, which is a software driven modem designed for windows (mostly). If this is the case, you're out of luck.
    You can check this page http://hardware.redhat.com/hcl/ to see if you modem is supported.
  • GsibberyGsibbery Member Posts: 11
    You can try using an external modem -- they almost always work. Or just get a modem that Linux can use and install it.
  • vinay_vvinay_v Member Posts: 4
    : hai
    : i, recentlly ,installed RetHat Linux. actually i am new to linux.
    : so far i worked with windows platform. In windows platform modem works well. but in LINUX modem could not detect. is there any manual or automaic detection process availale? please give me
    :

Hi Pandian,