Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Categories

I having trouble understanding the return in C++

[b][red]This message was edited by Garrett85 at 2003-10-30 14:5:47[/red][/b][hr]

IM new to programming, Iv been learning for a while now, reading different book and web sources and such and IM still pritty stupid at it. Iv never even gotten into windows programming or graphics at all. The writers of the books and web pages always start out good but then after a chapter or two they tend to think I know and understand things I dont. IM currently reading Game Programming All In One and IM trying to learn and understand Functions. Iv always just put return 0; at the end of all of my simple programs having no real knowledge of why its there or what it does. But now Iv got to return a variable that Iv created in my program (return variable) if I dont the program does not do what it is suppose to do. IM 17 and I want to be a game programmer but I dont know if I can make it, I keep getting stuck in begging level lessons and stuff like return that I just talked about. I dont know how you people learn all this. Anyway, could someone explain return, what is it and how does it work. When and why do I return what. Here is the code IM looking at. THX :-)

#include
using namespace std;

int variable(int number = 5);

main()
{
int number2, number3;

cout<< "Please enter a number";
cin>> number2;

number3 = variable(number2);

cout<< "The number is " << number3;

return 0;
}

int variable(int number)
{

int number4 = number * number;

return number4;
}

Comments

• AsmGuru62AsmGuru62 Member Posts: 6,519
    [b][red]This message was edited by AsmGuru62 at 2003-11-3 8:16:17[/red][/b][hr]
    : [b][red]This message was edited by Garrett85 at 2003-10-30 14:5:47[/red][/b][hr]
    :