Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Categories

Welcome to the new platform of Programmer's Heaven! We apologize for the inconvenience caused, if you visited us from a broken link of the previous version. The main reason to move to a new platform is to provide more effective and collaborative experience to you all. Please feel free to experience the new platform and use its exciting features. Contact us for any issue that you need to get clarified. We are more than happy to help you.

68000 Programmers

Hey!

I just want to know how many 68k programmers there are on this forum, and what sort of machines you code.

I'm also a 68k programmer, I program software for the Sega Megadrive Gaming machine. My website is here: http://www.emulationzone.org/projects/metalix. Bear in mind that the webpage is under heavy development at the moment.

- Lewis

Comments

• big_endianbig_endian Posts: 20Member
    Hello Lewis,

Did you ever work under license or Sega Enterprises, Ltd. or Electronic
    Arts by chance? I worked on many different game systems for 10 years.
    I did repairs, programming, and other tasks. Not just home gaming
    systems but the arcade systems as well.

So you worked on Sega Megadrive, that was on a 8 MHz 68000 CPU that
    had a 68-pin DIP package in the first version and then a QFP 84 pin
    CPU in the later revisions, still using 8 MHz. 12 MHz were used
    in the Sega Genesis / MegaDrive CD expansion units. I also program
    the Z-80 in direct mode for SMS games. Just love that Yamaha 2612
    sounds processor for the Sega Genesis and MegaDrive too, easy to work
    with. Something you may not be aware of, the MC68010 is pin, signal,
    and power / ground compatible with the 68000 CPUs, you can use them
    as a direct replacement and they have a higher tolerance to using
    it at a higher frequency. There is one problem however with the