Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Categories

Binary?

macphersonmacpherson Member Posts: 302
I am new to SQL of any kind and have just started using MySQL.

It appears there is no way of directly storing an integer to a table which has a column of type INT. It seems to me it has to be converted to a string of some kind first. Where am I going wrong? I have the book entitled "Managing & Using MySQL" by Reese et al. and it offers little direct help. Perhaps you can help clear the fog.

Comments

• JonathanJonathan Member Posts: 2,914
    : I am new to SQL of any kind and have just started using MySQL.
    :
    : It appears there is no way of directly storing an integer to a table which has a column of type INT. It seems to me it has to be converted to a string of some kind first. Where am I going wrong? I have the book entitled "Managing & Using MySQL" by Reese et al. and it offers little direct help. Perhaps you can help clear the fog.
    :

To interact with MySQL you have to send it SQL queries, which, as you appear to have discovered, are strings. So yes, you will need to do that. Iternally, column type INT results in the number being stored on disk as a number (not a string).

Jonathan

###
    for(74,117,115,116){$::a.=chr};(($_.='qwertyui')&&
    (tr/yuiqwert/her anot/))for($::b);for($::c){$_.=$^X;
    /(p.{2}l)/;$_=$1}$::b=~/(..)$/;print("$::a$::b $::c hack$1.");

• macphersonmacpherson Member Posts: 302
    : : I am new to SQL of any kind and have just started using MySQL.
    : :
    : : It appears there is no way of directly storing an integer to a table which has a column of type INT. It seems to me it has to be converted to a string of some kind first. Where am I going wrong? I have the book entitled "Managing & Using MySQL" by Reese et al. and it offers little direct help. Perhaps you can help clear the fog.
    :