Handling a WM_KEYDOWN message... - Programmers Heaven

Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Categories

Handling a WM_KEYDOWN message...

ShinGohanShinGohan Posts: 2Member
Hello, i'm new to MFC and i have got this problem:
i have a dialog with a CEdit control and i want to be able to handle a WM_KEYDOWN whenever i press a button while the editbox is focused..
i have added a "OnKeyDownText1(UINT nChar,UINT n_RepCnt,UINT nFlags)" handle in my dialog class and this (ON_WM_KEYDOWN(IDC_EDIT1,OnKeyDownText1)) in the message map, but it doesn't seem to work.. i've tried to trace the program and have found out that it never reaches my handler.. so how do i do it?

Comments

• stoberstober Posts: 9,765Member ✭✭✭
    : Hello, i'm new to MFC and i have got this problem:
    : i have a dialog with a CEdit control and i want to be able to handle a WM_KEYDOWN whenever i press a button while the editbox is focused..
    : i have added a "OnKeyDownText1(UINT nChar,UINT n_RepCnt,UINT nFlags)" handle in my dialog class and this (ON_WM_KEYDOWN(IDC_EDIT1,OnKeyDownText1)) in the message map, but it doesn't seem to work.. i've tried to trace the program and have found out that it never reaches my handler.. so how do i do it?
    :

you need to subclass the CEdit control and handle it in that class. Create a new MFC class that is derived from CEdit, then in the dialog's .h file change the control's type from CEdit to your new class, for example CMyEdit.
  • ShinGohanShinGohan Posts: 2Member
    : : Hello, i'm new to MFC and i have got this problem:
    : : i have a dialog with a CEdit control and i want to be able to handle a WM_KEYDOWN whenever i press a button while the editbox is focused..