Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Sign In with Facebook Sign In with Google Sign In with OpenID

Categories

We have migrated to a new platform! Please note that you will need to reset your password to log in (your credentials are still in-tact though). Please contact lee@programmersheaven.com if you have questions.
Welcome to the new platform of Programmer's Heaven! We apologize for the inconvenience caused, if you visited us from a broken link of the previous version. The main reason to move to a new platform is to provide more effective and collaborative experience to you all. Please feel free to experience the new platform and use its exciting features. Contact us for any issue that you need to get clarified. We are more than happy to help you.

asp.net windows authentication

spaceGoosespaceGoose Posts: 1Member
Hello. ASP.NET newbie here, so be gentle ;)

I'm creating an asp.net application (vb code, SQL server, IIS) that will work on a browser in an intranet environment. The application will use windows authentication (so that the users are able to access the app by logging onto their windows account).

My problem is, the application will have an admin user account feature that enables the application admin to change the users various access levels to different parts of the application as well as user info (such as name, phone, address, etc.). Is this possible to implement?

My problem is, I need to store the windows login usernames/passwords on the SQL database of the application as well, because that's where all the other user info will be stored in.

Is there a way to get the user info (user name and password (crypted)) visible in VB? Meaning, if I was to make a test app with a simple button and a label. Can I somehow print my own windows username to the label with a simple lbl1.text = ...whatever?

Security isn't an issue at this point.

Comments

• raymcdraymcd Posts: 284Member