Array of strings... - Programmers Heaven

Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Categories

Welcome to the new platform of Programmer's Heaven! We apologize for the inconvenience caused, if you visited us from a broken link of the previous version. The main reason to move to a new platform is to provide more effective and collaborative experience to you all. Please feel free to experience the new platform and use its exciting features. Contact us for any issue that you need to get clarified. We are more than happy to help you.

Array of strings...

drew84drew84 Posts: 8Member
Hi, im pretty sure this is a very simple question but im very new to C and win api and im trying to figure out how to create an array of strings... ive used C++ and its very easy to do in it... but since there is "string" class that i could predefine im not sure how to do it...
right now im trying to use chars, but im not sure at all of how to create a array of strings and have it take input from a file... Any help would be greatly apprecaited thank you.

Comments

• stoberstober Posts: 9,765Member ✭✭✭
    : Hi, im pretty sure this is a very simple question but im very new to C and win api and im trying to figure out how to create an array of strings... ive used C++ and its very easy to do in it... but since there is "string" class that i could predefine im not sure how to do it...
    : right now im trying to use chars, but im not sure at all of how to create a array of strings and have it take input from a file... Any help would be greatly apprecaited thank you.
    :
    [code]
    [red]if you know the maximum number of strings
    then this is the simplest way to do it.[/red]

// maximum number of strings in the array
    #define MAX_NUMBER_STRINGS 1000
    // each string can contain this may characters
    #define MAX_STRING_SIZE 80
    char array[MAX_NUMBER_STRINGS][MAX_STRING_SIZE];