Array of strings... - Programmers Heaven

Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Categories

Array of strings...

drew84drew84 Posts: 8Member
Hi, im pretty sure this is a very simple question but im very new to C and win api and im trying to figure out how to create an array of strings... ive used C++ and its very easy to do in it... but since there is "string" class that i could predefine im not sure how to do it...
right now im trying to use chars, but im not sure at all of how to create a array of strings and have it take input from a file... Any help would be greatly apprecaited thank you.

Comments

• stoberstober Posts: 9,765Member ✭✭✭
    : Hi, im pretty sure this is a very simple question but im very new to C and win api and im trying to figure out how to create an array of strings... ive used C++ and its very easy to do in it... but since there is "string" class that i could predefine im not sure how to do it...
    : right now im trying to use chars, but im not sure at all of how to create a array of strings and have it take input from a file... Any help would be greatly apprecaited thank you.
    :
    [code]
    [red]if you know the maximum number of strings
    then this is the simplest way to do it.[/red]

// maximum number of strings in the array
    #define MAX_NUMBER_STRINGS 1000
    // each string can contain this may characters
    #define MAX_STRING_SIZE 80
    char array[MAX_NUMBER_STRINGS][MAX_STRING_SIZE];

[red]If you don't know how may strings you need until
    runtime, then you can do this:[/red]

char **array;
    array = (char **)malloc(NumberStrings);
    for(i = 0; i < NumberStrings; i++)
    array[i] = malloc(MAX_STRING_SIZE);
    [/code]

• drew84drew84 Posts: 8Member