Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Categories

What language for 3D?

satrianisatriani Member Posts: 7

Hi to all,

I am a mathematician and I want to start programming
3D-related algorithms. I am interested in transformations, rendering, etc and I am not sure what language to choose. Should I start with C++ or Java? I am not a beginner in the programming idea and I have done some pre-work in C++. I certainly know the math for 3D and I even have some pseudo-code for the work I want to do but I don't know the capabilities of every language. Bottom line is: For advanced 3D computer graphics what is the right language?

Thanks in advance and excuse my English.

/S

Comments

• CroWCroW Member Posts: 348
    hi,

i think c/c++ is a good language for writing 3d-stuff coz it generates real machine-code,which executes always faster as an interpreter language like basic or java.

how do you want to do your stuff?do you want to use an API like direct3d or opengl or are you a hardcore math-guru and write a true software-renderer?when using the api,every language which could access the api-funcs could do the job,c/c++,vb or even java could do the job.of coz java isnt a good decision,because you need the api installed on the target-pc and your program will run only on one platform(win32 xor linux xor..).and its slow...

when writing a true software-renderer,you could also come to a point where things get to slow in pure c.thats the moment you need some inline assembly to speed up your code with 3d-now,mmx and so on.

i think an API like opengl is the best point to start.its popular,fast and will use any acceleration your hardware provides...
  • satrianisatriani Member Posts: 7

Thanks for the reply,