Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Categories

Configuring X Windows under RedHat 5.1

Hello,

I am very new to Linux and have been learning the commands in the bash shell. My problem is that I do not have X windows up and running. I bought the Linux Developers Kit, and it has X Windows on it( for Redhat and Debian)... but I can not seem to correctly configure it.

Also I cannot seem to invoke "make" from the command shell line.

Does anyone know an answer to my dilemna?

Sinc,

Jason

ps- does anyone know of a good How-To on the layout of the Linux system heirarchy? ( i.e. =kernel, drivers, consoles, servers... the way they behave under the Linux OS) thanks!

Comments

• Hi! I am reletavelyh new to Linux too, but being extremely knowlegable about computers transferring from the Windowze world to Linux is no problem.

It sounds like you have not installed a compiler not to be able to invoke make! How big is your hd? I had to exclude it on my second PC (100meg hdd)

If you ain't got make, you ain't got nothing to run your PC with. Just about everything in a tar.gz file has to be compiled. I think (Im not totally sure, youd know) isnt The developers kit have accelerated-x or metro-x? If not, you can grab the rpm file off the 5.1 CD (Free-x), with rpm you don't need a compiler.

What i'd recommend: If 5.1 is anythingh like 5.2, reboot your system with the install disk & cd and choose UPGRADE. Add any components (ie X and C & C++ compilers), and boom, they will be installed for you.

I can't really say what is wrong you have not explained your problem adquately enough. Reply. Please?

Ryan Verner

(email me if you'd prefer)

:

: Hello,