Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Sign In with Facebook Sign In with Google Sign In with OpenID

Categories

We have migrated to a new platform! Please note that you will need to reset your password to log in (your credentials are still in-tact though). Please contact lee@programmersheaven.com if you have questions.
Welcome to the new platform of Programmer's Heaven! We apologize for the inconvenience caused, if you visited us from a broken link of the previous version. The main reason to move to a new platform is to provide more effective and collaborative experience to you all. Please feel free to experience the new platform and use its exciting features. Contact us for any issue that you need to get clarified. We are more than happy to help you.

Sorting files into various orders

stustu Posts: 1Member
Hi,
Im fairly new to Python, and have several textbooks on the language (Programming Python and Learning Python) but I still need a little help...

Im writing a program that will take a long IP log file, and sort it out into a list depending on user set variables, such as sort the list by Protocol type and sort the list by IP address (to name but two).

Im thinking of using a list, but am unsure how to load the log file into the list, and the best way to index it.. any help would be very much appreciated!

Thanks

Comments

• infidelinfidel Posts: 2,900Member
    : Hi,
    : Im fairly new to Python, and have several textbooks on the language (Programming Python and Learning Python) but I still need a little help...
    :
    : Im writing a program that will take a long IP log file, and sort it out into a list depending on user set variables, such as sort the list by Protocol type and sort the list by IP address (to name but two).
    :
    : Im thinking of using a list, but am unsure how to load the log file into the list, and the best way to index it.. any help would be very much appreciated!