site template -- script needed? - Programmers Heaven

Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Categories

Welcome to the new platform of Programmer's Heaven! We apologize for the inconvenience caused, if you visited us from a broken link of the previous version. The main reason to move to a new platform is to provide more effective and collaborative experience to you all. Please feel free to experience the new platform and use its exciting features. Contact us for any issue that you need to get clarified. We are more than happy to help you.

site template -- script needed?

I want to create a template for my website to help give it a consistent look and feel. I'm not very experienced with html, and I have virtually no script experience, so this might be a dumb question that everyone but me knows the answer to.

My layout is organized into table cells like so:
------------------------------
| | header/graphic/ |
| filler | banner |
| | |
| links | content |
| | |
| | |

I want the template to fill the cells for 'filler', 'header/et.al', and 'links' from a separate file (*.txt or *.htm). I know to use image for any cells that include only images, but for other cells ... how do i pull in html from a different file?

Thanks,
-MW

Comments

• aint2goodaint2good Posts: 7Member
    I don't want to use frames for this.

: I want to create a template for my website to help give it a consistent look and feel. I'm not very experienced with html, and I have virtually no script experience, so this might be a dumb question that everyone but me knows the answer to.
    :
    : My layout is organized into table cells like so:
    : ------------------------------
    : | | header/graphic/ |
    : | filler | banner |
    : | | |
    : | links | content |
    :