How to write a common function / procedure? - Programmers Heaven

Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Categories

Welcome to the new platform of Programmer's Heaven! We apologize for the inconvenience caused, if you visited us from a broken link of the previous version. The main reason to move to a new platform is to provide more effective and collaborative experience to you all. Please feel free to experience the new platform and use its exciting features. Contact us for any issue that you need to get clarified. We are more than happy to help you.

How to write a common function / procedure?

dicktsedicktse Posts: 1Member
I'm new to VB .NET. I wanna ask that how to write a common module that share common function / procedures among different solutions?

Comments

• iwilld0itiwilld0it Posts: 1,134Member
    : I'm new to VB .NET. I wanna ask that how to write a common module that share common function / procedures among different solutions?
    :

Solution 1: Create a .vb file and enclose procedures in a module block:

Module Globals

Public Sub SomeProc()
    ' Code
    End Sub

Public Function CheckVal() As Boolean
    ' Code
    End Sub

End Module

Note that these procedures are global to the entire project. But to utilize maximum reusibility, you could encapsulate procedures in a Class block.

Public Class SomeClass

Public Sub SomeProc()
    ' Code
    End Sub

Public Function CheckVal() As Boolean
    ' Code
    End Sub

End Class

Then you can use these procedures like so ...

Dim obj As New SomeClass

Call obj.SomeProc()
    Dim blnResult As Boolean = obj.CheckVal()

You can simulate Modules with classes, by declaring class procedures as Shared.

Public Class SomeClass

Public Shared Sub SomeProc()
    ' Code
    End Sub

Public Shared Function CheckVal() As Boolean
    ' Code
    End Sub

End Class