Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Categories

RPM installation

MatthewDMatthewD Member Posts: 297
Hi all,

I'm fairly new to Linux. I have installed Mandrake 9.0 with (at least I thought) the development tools. However, the only development tools off the start menu are IDLE, GDB, and Bug Daddy. What I really wanted was KDevelop.

Looking around on the hard drive, I haven't been able to find KDevelop either.

So I checked my installation disks and found KDevelop.rpm. I understand that RPM is a package manager. Doubling clicking brings up the install window and request for Root password, which I supply. And then I get an error regarding dependencies.

Do I have to track down each of these dependencies and install them myself?
Is this the correct way to install programs?
What other advice/info is there for installation (helpful links, too?)
Where might KDevelop already be on my drive (i.e. where should I look?)
Are there other C++ development environments you would recommend over KDevelop?

Thanks in advance,
Matt.

Comments

• jeweljewel Member Posts: 52
    : Hi all,
    :
    : I'm fairly new to Linux. I have installed Mandrake 9.0 with (at least I thought) the development tools. However, the only development tools off the start menu are IDLE, GDB, and Bug Daddy. What I really wanted was KDevelop.
    :
    : Looking around on the hard drive, I haven't been able to find KDevelop either.
    :
    : So I checked my installation disks and found KDevelop.rpm. I understand that RPM is a package manager. Doubling clicking brings up the install window and request for Root password, which I supply. And then I get an error regarding dependencies.
    :
    : Do I have to track down each of these dependencies and install them myself?
    : Is this the correct way to install programs?
    : What other advice/info is there for installation (helpful links, too?)