How do I get my .exe files to work? - Programmers Heaven

Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Categories

Welcome to the new platform of Programmer's Heaven! We apologize for the inconvenience caused, if you visited us from a broken link of the previous version. The main reason to move to a new platform is to provide more effective and collaborative experience to you all. Please feel free to experience the new platform and use its exciting features. Contact us for any issue that you need to get clarified. We are more than happy to help you.

How do I get my .exe files to work?

I made a nifty little program that converts fehrenheit temperatures to celsius (I know...not all that wonderful, but i'm proud cuz i just started learning 2 days ago).

I wanted to send it to my friend, but when i saved the .cpp file as an .exe and tried to run it, i got an error message saying that degree.exe (my program name) is not a valid Win 32 application.

This book I have on C++ says that one of the reasons C++ is useful is because you can send the programs to people and they don't need the language on their comp...they can just run it.

Am I doing something wrong? Is my computer messed up? Did I spend a good chunk of money only to be able to write up little bits of code that will never be able to be turned into real programs (Like some cheesy, two-bit shareware demo) ?? ;)

Penance

Comments

• : I made a nifty little program that converts fehrenheit temperatures to celsius (I know...not all that wonderful, but i'm proud cuz i just started learning 2 days ago).

: I wanted to send it to my friend, but when i saved the .cpp file as an .exe and tried to run it, i got an error message saying that degree.exe (my program name) is not a valid Win 32 application.