Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Categories

Gaming - where and how do you learn?

Hi, I'm in second year computer programming in college and have taken a great liking to C and C++. The program, however, is now switching its focus away from C/C++ and onto other languages, which is rather disappointing because I want to learn more. I am very interested in the games development aspect, but don't know where to start. My knowledge would still be considered extremely basic to most. If there are any good books or sites please let me know!

shelleykerr@hotmail.com

Comments

• andrewgs73andrewgs73 Member Posts: 95
    : Hi, I'm in second year computer programming in college and have taken a great liking to C and C++. The program, however, is now switching its focus away from C/C++ and onto other languages, which is rather disappointing because I want to learn more. I am very interested in the games development aspect, but don't know where to start. My knowledge would still be considered extremely basic to most. If there are any good books or sites please let me know!
    :
    : shelleykerr@hotmail.com
    :
    www.gametutorials.com
  • Coconut CrabCoconut Crab Member Posts: 8
    Hello,
    I found this book while learning C++. It teaches you C++ by developing games, from simple text games with cout and cin in the first few chapters to graphical games using Windows API and DirectX at the end. The book is called:

C++ Programming for the absolute beginner, by Dirk Henkemans and Mark Lee, published by Premier Press, ISBN: 1-931841-43-8