Direct memory access?

Hi there,

is there a way to access a bitmap directly in memory? I know about canvas.pixels but thats way too slow for me.

Well, i think i can get the address of the bitmap via:
pointer:=adr(bitmap); ,
but i dont know how to access the memory afterwards. I'm pretty new at Delphi and tried kinda:
mem[segment:offset]:=x; ,
which i found out, is not defined - although the way i need.

I'm pretty unexperienced with pointers either, although i know the segment is the hi-word of the pointer.

I'd appreciate any help, thanks.

Comments

• : Hi there,
    :
    : is there a way to access a bitmap directly in memory? I know about canvas.pixels but thats way too slow for me.
    :
    : Well, i think i can get the address of the bitmap via:
    : pointer:=adr(bitmap); ,
    : but i dont know how to access the memory afterwards. I'm pretty new at Delphi and tried kinda:
    : mem[segment:offset]:=x; ,
    : which i found out, is not defined - although the way i need.
    :
    : I'm pretty unexperienced with pointers either, although i know the segment is the hi-word of the pointer.
    :
    : I'd appreciate any help, thanks.
    :

Learn about tbitmap.scanline

It returns a pointer to a row of pixel data. It is pretty fast. I used it in a few of my submissions(image averaging, alpha blending, asm animation...). They should help you learn how to use it.

• : : Hi there,
    : :
    : : is there a way to access a bitmap directly in memory? I know about canvas.pixels but thats way too slow for me.
    : : Well, i think i can get the address of the bitmap via:
    : : pointer:=adr(bitmap); ,
    : : but i dont know how to access the memory afterwards. I'm pretty new at Delphi and tried kinda:
    : : mem[segment:offset]:=x; ,
    : : which i found out, is not defined - although the way i need.
    : : I'm pretty unexperienced with pointers either, although i know the segment is the hi-word of the pointer.
    : : I'd appreciate any help, thanks.
    :