Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Categories

Confused Newbie...File IO...please help

michaeltmichaelt Member Posts: 4
Hi... I found the following code whilst browsing alt.comp.lang.learn.c++

It gets a user to enter a filename, opens the file and then writes hello world to it.

string s;
cout << "enter filename: ";
cin >> s;
ofstream f(s.c_str());
f << "hello world
";

Now I want to get the user to enter a filename, open the file and then read from it.
I wrote the following but no luck. It did compile but it didn't read the file

string s;
cout << "enter filename: ";
cin >> s;
ifstream f(s.c_str()); // Does this line make sense?

while(!f.eof())
{
f.get(ch);
cout << ch << endl;
}

Have I got the approach to opening and reading files entirely wrong by using
ifstream f(s.c_str()) and get(ch)

Please remember I'm a newbie (six weeks old) and my world is full of confusion :)

Many thanks for your time

Kind Regards

Robert

Comments

• spurs01spurs01 Member Posts: 44
    while(!feof()) /*i think it should be feof() not f.eof() */
    {
    f.get(ch);
    cout << ch << endl;
    }

travis
    : Hi... I found the following code whilst browsing alt.comp.lang.learn.c++
    :
    : It gets a user to enter a filename, opens the file and then writes hello world to it.
    :
    : string s;
    : cout << "enter filename: ";
    : cin >> s;
    : ofstream f(s.c_str());
    : f << "hello world
    ";
    :
    : Now I want to get the user to enter a filename, open the file and then read from it.
    : I wrote the following but no luck. It did compile but it didn't read the file
    :
    : string s;
    : cout << "enter filename: ";
    : cin >> s;
    : ifstream f(s.c_str()); // Does this line make sense?
    :
    : while(!f.eof())
    : {
    : f.get(ch);
    : cout << ch << endl;
    : }
    :
    : Have I got the approach to opening and reading files entirely wrong by using