Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Categories

forms and php and mysql

KiLr@KiLr@ Member Posts: 91
hmm i want to add a new row into a database , the value of wot should be inserted is in the textbox. one problem it doesnt work :(

can anyone help me please

[code]
<?
$insert = mysql_query("insert into tester (Name) values text1");
?>

&nbsp

[/code]

im new at this so i hope its not a stupid question :D

thanx
[hr]
CYA
[red][b]KiLLeRRaT a.k.a KiLr@ a.k.a albert :D[/b][/red]
someone said to me :"u cant do it man u just copy and past the code." and i said well, why reinvent the wheel:D

Comments

• Mark StrijbosMark Strijbos Member Posts: 82
    : [code]
    :
    :
    : [/code]
    you can't use PHP as an event handler (like javascript) because it's server-side code that runs just once as the page is rendered.
    the solution is to use another page as target of your form (see above)
    and put the insert statements in that page.
    OR you could refer to the same page but add a block of code that only executes when $submit = "submit"

• KiLr@KiLr@ Member Posts: 91
    : : [code]
    : :
    : :
    : : [/code]
    : you can't use PHP as an event handler (like javascript) because it's server-side code that runs just once as the page is rendered.
    : the solution is to use another page as target of your form (see above)
    : and put the insert statements in that page.
    : OR you could refer to the same page but add a block of code that only executes when $submit = "submit"
    :
    :
    :
    :
    how would i do that ??? i dont know ANYTHING ;)

thanx

[hr]
    CYA
    someone said to me :"u cant do it man u just copy and past the code." and i said well, why reinvent the wheel:D

: how would i do that ??? i dont know ANYTHING ;)

well, in that case i must refer you to the PHP manual. i can't explain EVERYTHING :)
    There are also loads of examples to be found on the net BTW