Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Categories

Getting despaired

gustavosserragustavosserra Member Posts: 201
How do I learn all that complicated stuff like dlls, hardware functions, threads, etc. Im a computer science student, and I read
a lot! But the only things I now are a lot of functions(and I dont know even how they really work).
Please someone help me!

Comments

• Lyme3Lyme3 Member Posts: 57
    : How do I learn all that complicated stuff like dlls, hardware functions, threads, etc. Im a computer science student, and I read
    : a lot! But the only things I now are a lot of functions(and I dont know even how they really work).
    : Please someone help me!
    :

I'm going to assume you are coding in C++. If all you know is functions, you have a good bit of learning to do yet. If you have some extra money try these books: "The C++ Programming Language", by: Bjarne Stroustrup (creator of C++) and "C++ How to Program" by: Deitel & Deitel. They won't teach you threads and such, they are great resources. Your best bet for dlls and such is to search the web, and find people who know how to do it and convince them its in their best interest to teach you =) Good luck!

-Matt
  • DariusDarius Member Posts: 1,666
    : : How do I learn all that complicated stuff like dlls, hardware functions, threads, etc. Im a computer science student, and I read
    : : a lot! But the only things I now are a lot of functions(and I dont know even how they really work).
    : : Please someone help me!
    : :

Do you want to know how they work on the inside, how they work conceptually, or do you just want to know how to use them?

Making and using a DLL is pretty trivial. Typically it's just an option in the IDE or a compiler switch.

I don't know what you mean by 'hardware functions', many functions access the hardware.