Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Categories

What is a none portable pointer?

I'm current working on a program about 2D Arrays currently with string. I wanted to store the data using a loop but I keep on receiving this kind of warning message:
:-( [b][red]Warning test14.c 13: Non-portable pointer conversion in function main[/red][/b] :-(
And the program also hangsup the O.S.
I'm currently new to record-type programming in C. This is the code by the way:
[code]
[1]: #include
[2]: /*Using 2D Arrays of String*/
[3]: main(void)
[4]: {
[5]: char studno[10][4], studfname[10][4], studlname[10][4], studmi[5][4];
[6]: int row, col;
[7]: row = 0; col = 0;
[8]: printf("
STUDENT RECORD SYSTEM

");
[9]: /*Acquiring student data*/
[10]: for (row = 0; row <= 4; row++)
[11]: {
[12]: printf("
STUDENT NO: ");
[13]: gets(studno[col][row]);
[14]: }
[15]:
[16]: row = 0; col = 0;
[17]: /*for printing data from the array*/
[18]: for (row = 0; row <= 4; row++)
[19]: {
[20]: printf("
STUDENT NO: %s", studno[col][row]);
[21]: }
[22]: }
[/code]
Anyone can help me figure this out. I have to say arrays are a little bit confusing. Im using Borland Turbo C Version 2.0. I didn't use scanf coz its have a problem accept data of string with space.

Comments

• DariusDarius Member Posts: 1,666
    It's not 'non portable pointer' it's 'non portable pointer CONVERSION'. Pointers themselves are obviously portable, they are part of the language.

Anyways, the compiler is converting a char to a pointer.

The problem is gets() expects a pointer and you are giving it a character. If you want to read a character then use getchar() if you want to read a string then you need to pass a character pointer. I've already erased your code and I don't feel like finding out what would be the most likely code that you MEANT to write, so you'll need to figure it out on your own.