Meaning of the [] and PTR operators??? - Programmers Heaven

Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Categories

Welcome to the new platform of Programmer's Heaven! We apologize for the inconvenience caused, if you visited us from a broken link of the previous version. The main reason to move to a new platform is to provide more effective and collaborative experience to you all. Please feel free to experience the new platform and use its exciting features. Contact us for any issue that you need to get clarified. We are more than happy to help you.

Meaning of the [] and PTR operators???

yaayaa Posts: 2Member
Hello,

I'm a newbie to assembler programming and looking at code samples I was wandering about the meaning of the square brackets and PTR operators. Can anyone confirm that the square bracket operator specifies a memory reference (of the contained register, label, etc) and that the PTR operator is used to do something like a C cast??? To what can the square brackets operator be applied to apart registers and labels???
Thx.

Regards,
YAA

Comments

• AsmGuru62AsmGuru62 Posts: 6,519Member
    : Hello,
    :
    : I'm a newbie to assembler programming and looking at code samples I was wandering about the meaning of the square brackets and PTR operators. Can anyone confirm that the square bracket operator specifies a memory reference (of the contained register, label, etc) and that the PTR operator is used to do something like a C cast??? To what can the square brackets operator be applied to apart registers and labels???
    : Thx.
    :
    : Regards,
    : YAA
    :
    [blue]Square brackets specify the address expression, like:

mov [ebx+4], eax

This means: store the contents of EAX into memory location address of which is calculated as contents of EBX + 4 bytes.

PTR is used as a cast, consider this:

mov [ebx], 4