Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Categories

Help with 3D grid data

cool_xocool_xo Member Posts: 3
I am new to Graphics Programming.

I have to program a software application that takes in many slices of 2D data in both direction. That is, those slices crosses each other.

I am using VC++/MFC/DirectX to do this. Would anyone have any ideas of where should I start?? And I'm a bit lost on how to get the grid data points and display them as a solid cube.

Any comments would be greatly appreciated. thanks. =(

Comments

• SephirothSephiroth Fayetteville, NC, USAMember Posts: 1,035
    : I am new to Graphics Programming.
    :
    : I have to program a software application that takes in many slices of 2D data in both direction. That is, those slices crosses each other.
    :
    : I am using VC++/MFC/DirectX to do this. Would anyone have any ideas of where should I start?? And I'm a bit lost on how to get the grid data points and display them as a solid cube.
    :
    : Any comments would be greatly appreciated. thanks. =(
    :

I'm not sure what exactly you're trying to do, but I have two helpful pieces of advice. The first is to ditch DX until you're fairly competent at both C++ and 3D manipulation. I spent (wasted) a month trying to get DX to do anything, then spent about four hours toying with OpenGL and had a fully-rendered 3D engine up. OpenGL also runs faster, but requires an OpenGL compliant card (ie: not an ATI, such as a Radeon). The second would be to ditch the visual series and learn to code the stuff manually because the code turns out MUCH cleaner, faster, and it's a million times easier to go back and correct errors or modify code.

-[italic][b][red]S[/red][purple]e[/purple][blue]p[/blue][green]h[/green][red]i[/red][purple]r[/purple][blue]o[/blue][green]t[/green][red]h[/red][/b][/italic]

• cool_xocool_xo Member Posts: 3