Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Categories

question on starting in JSP

hi im a newbie who has some experience in java and am interested
in learning jsp. My future project would be to build a site for my high
school w/ a database so people could log in, post messages, share notes etc. im taking it one step at a time though and am wondering whether i need a real server if i just want to learn the language. Ive already downloaded tomcat, which from what i figure is an engine to run jsp on apache servers. Im pretty confused though and was wondering if there is any way to just write scripts and run them without a server. Im sure its possible, but how?
-newbie in need

Comments

• beancounterbeancounter Member Posts: 88
    : hi im a newbie who has some experience in java and am interested
    : in learning jsp. My future project would be to build a site for my high
    : school w/ a database so people could log in, post messages, share notes etc. im taking it one step at a time though and am wondering whether i need a real server if i just want to learn the language. Ive already downloaded tomcat, which from what i figure is an engine to run jsp on apache servers. Im pretty confused though and was wondering if there is any way to just write scripts and run them without a server. Im sure its possible, but how?
    : -newbie in need
    :