Multi-dimensional pointer arrays

Hello,

I am having some trouble using multidimensional arrays with pointers. I am able to create the array whatever size I want with this code from http://community.borland.com/article/0,1410,17224,00.html

float (*temp)[3];

temp = new float[2][3];
temp[0][0] = 2.345;

The only important differences are that I am not using floats, I am using a type of my own creation, and the user decides the size of the array in the program. I am new to creating arrays like this and don't know how to do a couple of things:

1. I know that if I create a multidimensional array the 'normal' way, then in function prototypes I have to explicitly give the sizes of all but the first dimension. What am I supposed to do if all the dimensions unknown until run-time?

2. Also on the idea of functions, could someone give me examples of function calls and bodies besides the prototype?

3. Is there anything else I should know about using this kind of array?

4. If I should go about it a different way altogether.

I am using Borland's command line C++ compiler.

Thanks,

Jesse Merriman
jesse_m14020@yahoo.com

Comments

• [b][red]This message was edited by Darius at 2002-8-7 17:35:48[/red][/b][hr]
    [b][red]This message was edited by Darius at 2002-7-31 22:31:15[/red][/b][hr]
    : Hello,
    :
    : I am having some trouble using multidimensional arrays with pointers. I am able to create the array whatever size I want with this code from http://community.borland.com/article/0,1410,17224,00.html
    :
    : float (*temp)[3];
    :
    : temp = new float[2][3];
    : temp[0][0] = 2.345;
    : ...
    :
    :
    "The only important differences are that I am not using floats"

Why? BLORG (*temp)[3];temp=new BLORG[2][3]; would work fine as long as BLORG has a default constructor.

:, I am using a type of my own creation, and the user decides the size of the array in the program. I am new to creating arrays like this and don't know how to do a couple of things: