Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Categories

Calling an .exe file and suspending the program which called it

another_paulanother_paul Member Posts: 2
Hi,

I'm very new to Windows programming (I've done a little VC++ debugging, but not written anything from scratch - most of my experience is Pascal), so please bear with me.

I'm trying to write a progam which detects the operation system version and then installs a series of microsoft patches (different ones depending on the OS).

Detecting the OS is fine and I can call external .exe programs (so far, just notepad) using CreateProcess(). The problem is that the I don't seem to be able to cause the make my program go into the background while the microsoft patch is running (the term modal comes to mind but this might be something unrelated).

Could someone point me in the right direction? Alternatively, comments along the lines of "Why on Earth would you want to do it using VC++? XXX would be much easier" would be helpful.

BTW, does anyone know if there are restrictions on redistributing (unmodified) microsoft patches?

Kind regards,
Paul

Comments

• pingpongpingpong Member Posts: 937
    Paul,

: I'm very new to Windows programming (I've done a little VC++ debugging, but not written anything from scratch - most of my experience is Pascal), so please bear with me.
    :

Welcome aboard!

: I'm trying to write a progam which detects the operation system version and then installs a series of microsoft patches (different ones depending on the OS).
    :
    : Detecting the OS is fine and I can call external .exe programs (so far, just notepad) using CreateProcess(). The problem is that the I don't seem to be able to cause the make my program go into the background while the microsoft patch is running (the term modal comes to mind but this might be something unrelated).
    :

First off, you can stop your program with code like this:
    [code]