Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Categories

Welcome to the new platform of Programmer's Heaven! We apologize for the inconvenience caused, if you visited us from a broken link of the previous version. The main reason to move to a new platform is to provide more effective and collaborative experience to you all. Please feel free to experience the new platform and use its exciting features. Contact us for any issue that you need to get clarified. We are more than happy to help you.

I want to start a discussion about...

... the different programming languages: C++, Java, C#.
My problem is the following: I have currently 4 years experience in developing Visual Foxpro applications. But now I want to start with the 'real' work. But the difficulty is: making the right choice of the above mentioned 3 programming languages.
I always believed in C++, but that's also the oldest one of the three. At first sight, after having experienced some Jave, I think you should have a lot of hardware to run Java applications smoothly. And C# sharp is just something of Microsoft. Some say that C# has the advantages of C++ and Java. But I don't like the idea that it is something from Microsoft alone. I think there is no certainty if it still will exist in the future.
So give me your thougths, tell me what you like most, what the advantages/disadvantages are from each language. Shortly, any comment on this is very appreciated.

Comments

• stoberstober Posts: 9,765Member ✭✭✭
    Read-world programming languages are not limited to just those three -- there are lots of them. I recall over the past 25 years that the C and C++ programmers I knew thought cobol and fortran were dying languages and on their last breath. But supprise! supprise! Cobol is still alive and kicking! I havn't heard a thing out of Fortran for several years.