Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Categories

Few C# Questions

DroopyADroopyA Member Posts: 175
Right now I'm a VB6 programmer but eventually my company is going to have to move up to the .net platform. Our code started in VB4 so there is no way our code is going to be upgradeable the way it is. The way I see it now... we're going to have to rebuild it from the ground up. Anyways... Since we have to retype all the code I was wondering if it would be worth our time to just move straight to C#.

I'm looking for some C# programmers advice. Is it worth it? Is it as good or better than C++? Is C# more for web programming or is it for both? How diffrent is it from C++? Is there anyplace I can go to learn more about C#?

Thank you.
- N473

Comments

• GenjuroGenjuro Member Posts: 913
    : Right now I'm a VB6 programmer but eventually my company is going to have to move up to the .net platform. Our code started in VB4 so there is no way our code is going to be upgradeable the way it is. The way I see it now... we're going to have to rebuild it from the ground up. Anyways... Since we have to retype all the code I was wondering if it would be worth our time to just move straight to C#.
    :
    : I'm looking for some C# programmers advice. Is it worth it? Is it as good or better than C++? Is C# more for web programming or is it for both? How diffrent is it from C++? Is there anyplace I can go to learn more about C#?
    :
    : Thank you.
    : - N473
    :

You probably remember me from the VB messageboard *LOL*

C#, IMO, is the best .NET language. It's far easier that C++ .NET (as it has no pointers - okay, besides in "unmanaged" sections, but that's your choice, speed vs code safety), and it is pretty good for application programming, not just the Web (and anyways .NET, through MSIL, made every programming language more or less the same, about efficiency).