Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Categories

Welcome to the new platform of Programmer's Heaven! We apologize for the inconvenience caused, if you visited us from a broken link of the previous version. The main reason to move to a new platform is to provide more effective and collaborative experience to you all. Please feel free to experience the new platform and use its exciting features. Contact us for any issue that you need to get clarified. We are more than happy to help you.

VB file processing questions

stanclarkstanclark Posts: 5Member
I'm a new VB coder, converting from mainframe COBOL. I have to write a program that reads in mainframe files in one format
and write the data out in a new format.

In COBOL there are record layout structures. I've defined TYPEs for each record layout, incoming and outgoing. The records
are fixed in length but most have filler bytes of spaces filling out each record. The first character in each record indicates
which type of record it is (H for header, D for detail...).

Is there an easy way to read a record, determine which type it is and move the entire record into the corresponding TYPE
for reformating.

Has anyone out there ever written code like this?

Comments

• lionblionb Posts: 1,688Member ✭✭
    : I'm a new VB coder, converting from mainframe COBOL. I have to write a program that reads in mainframe files in one format
    : and write the data out in a new format.
    :
    : In COBOL there are record layout structures. I've defined TYPEs for each record layout, incoming and outgoing. The records
    : are fixed in length but most have filler bytes of spaces filling out each record. The first character in each record indicates
    : which type of record it is (H for header, D for detail...).
    :
    : Is there an easy way to read a record, determine which type it is and move the entire record into the corresponding TYPE
    : for reformating.