Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Categories

Help with IDIV function

ZotudZotud Member Posts: 1
Hi,

Im pretty new to assembler and having a problem with creating a modulus function. The full problem is that I want to display a clock on the screen that takes the time from the system clock. This is my current thinking:

cycle: mov ah,06 ;check for Esc pressed?
mov dl,0ffh
int 21h

cmp al,27 ; if pressed then exit program
je finish

mov dh,5 ;set cursor position
mov dl,27
mov bh,0
mov ah,poscur
int 10h

mov ah,2ch ;get time from system clock
int 21h ;ch will contain hours, cl will contain
;mins
;dh will contain secs, dl will contain
;0.05 secs
mov secs1,dh

mov ax,secs1

mov al,10

idiv al

add secs1,48

mov dl,secs1 ;display secs1
mov ah,02
int 21h

jmp cycle

The problem is that the values for mins (for example) are displayed as ascii chars. So I want to divide mins by 10 using IDIV, which should give me the quotient and the reminder then I can correct their values and display the time. However I cannot move secs1 (mins value) into ax (ax is divided by al when using idiv function), I get an operands types do not match error. Is there a way around this problem, maybe using different registers etc?

Thanks for any help..

Comments

• tburchamtburcham Member Posts: 102
    The full problem is that I want to display a clock on the screen that takes the time from the system clock. This is my current thinking:

: cycle: mov ah,06 ;check for Esc pressed?
    : mov dl,0ffh
    : int 21h
    :
    : cmp al,27 ; if pressed then exit program
    : je finish
    :
    : mov dh,5 ;set cursor position
    : mov dl,27
    : mov bh,0
    : mov ah,poscur
    : int 10h
    :
    : mov ah,2ch ;get time from system clock
    : int 21h ;ch will contain hours, cl will contain
    : ;mins
    : ;dh will contain secs, dl will contain
    : ;0.05 secs
    : mov secs1,dh
    :
    : mov ax,secs1
    :
    : mov al,10