Athlon XP oc

Im going to buy a new PC. Im looking at an athlon xp 1700+ or similar and wanted to know which cpu/motherboard/ram is best for overclocking?

Comments

• : Im going to buy a new PC. Im looking at an athlon xp 1700+ or similar and wanted to know which cpu/motherboard/ram is best for overclocking?
    : Hello! Check with http://www6.tomshardware.com/ for a vast amount of information regarding CPU cooling and overclocking. I've been overclocking ASUS motherboards for several years without failure. Plenty of cooling is required to prevent premature failure of the cpu and motherboard. Good luck.

• : Im going to buy a new PC. Im looking at an athlon xp 1700+ or similar and wanted to know which cpu/motherboard/ram is best for overclocking?
    :

Are you going to buy the PC or build it? My motherboard and CPU are as follows:

Motherboard: Epox 8KHA+
    CPU: AMD Athlon XP 1600+

I overclocked my XP from 1.4 to 1.63. I definitely suggest going Epox, but they have a newer model out (newer than my 8KHA+). They have the 8K3A. I hear this might be a little better. I don't know from first-hand experience, though. You could also go Abit or Asus. They are very good mobos.

For RAM, I have 256M of Crucial DDR. It's holding 310MHz FSB very well and is stable. But, you have to take ALL of your hardware into account when you overclock. What video card? HDD (I suggest Western Digital)? And what wattage for the PSU? Cooling system for an overclocked machine is one of THE biggest things to take into account. I have 4 x 80mm Sunon High Speeds in my case (not counting the PSU fan, GPU fan, and the HSF). COOLING IS VERY, VERY BIG!!!!

I am a big-time overclocker so with any questions just reply or you can also e-mail me about questions or anything :D

ASMcat

• : : Im going to buy a new PC. Im looking at an athlon xp 1700+ or similar and wanted to know which cpu/motherboard/ram is best for overclocking?
    : :
    :